top of page
  • Writer's pictureWallaroo Gazette

Black Student Union Showcase




Riley Wang, rw163@uakron.edu

The second annual Black Student Union Showcase took place on a sunny February afternoon. Leigh Hall was filled with excitement as the audience waited for what the showcase had to offer. The hosts of the show were funny and outgoing. They hyped up the crowd from the very beginning and made the audience actively engaged in the event. The showcase featured various performances such as majorette dancing, a decades fashion show, poetry slams, and so much more! The performers presented Black History to its audience in a fun and exciting way, which created a great atmosphere where everyone had a good time. 

I enjoyed every part of the showcase and learned a lot about the accomplishments of many African Americans and their impact on American History. My favorite person I learned about was Bessie Coleman, the first African American and Native American woman to hold a pilot license. Coleman is an inspiration to all as she broke down barriers and reached her goal. Next, let's take a look at some insights from performers and the student’s experience at the BSU showcase. 


Q: What was it like to participate in the showcase?

Participating in the showcase was such a fun experience. I did it last year with the dance team but this time I was on my own. I made new friends and I got to experience the behind the scenes which is always fun. Everyone who is a part of BSU and those who participated are friendly people and appreciate their culture. It was so much fun to spend time with all of them.    – Kennedy Gaines 


Participating in the BSU showcase was an exciting and nervous experience. When I was asked to perform in the show I was excited because I love to sing, but singing in front of people is a nervous task. When I got on the stage on the day of the performance and started singing, most of the nerves went away, but I was still shaking like a salt shaker. Overall, it was a fun experience and I would gladly do it again.

– Q’ziah Marks 


Q: What was your favorite part of the performance?


My favorite part was the fashion show. I may or may not be biased because my clothing brand was also in it. 

– Jordan Holloway 


My favorite part of the show case was the fashion show because each decades models added their own flair to each performance

– Angel Haslam


The performance was made possible by the hard work of BSU members and the guidance of Ms. Tori. Let’s take a moment to thank the talented scholars of BSU and the amazing leadership of Ms. Tori. Thank you!



14 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page